experience the next
 
  > 国土安全  > 运输业

Intellect平台管理Kiev市道路交叉口

Kiev是一个人口约三百万的大城市。如同许多大都市,市中心的交通流量规划是重中之重。其解决方案已给采用Intellect平台系统。

地理位置

交通拥堵的市中心与交通繁忙的住宅区

为减少路况拥挤,城市行政管理机构强制实施了一系列包括货物运输在内的特殊限制措施。 虽然(政府规定)没有得到特殊许可的卡车是禁止进入市中心的,但仍有很多(卡车)司机无视以上规定。每辆卡车停车受检会造成严重的交通拥堵。 为了解决此类问题,政府决定部署一套智能视频监视系统,用来监控交通状况。

方案的选择

低速传输通道同时拥有高识别率和高品质图像。

对于交通录像监视系统的安装,有以下几点需要指出:需要辨认出驶往城市中心的车辆型号,通过识别所有卡车的车牌号码来判定是否已经有通行证。如果识别出未被准许入城的车辆,那么在监视器上就会弹出一条警告信息。 在选择一个可作为未来解决方案的基础系统时,有许多的因素必须考虑在内。该系统应该有较高的概率来识别车牌号码, (并)具备分布式的结构和容量以便拓展,并且可在低速率通道下(正常)操作,在帧大小有限的前提下仍可提供高质量图像,最后还可以配合雷达测速仪工作, 在(视频监视)中心收集统计交通工具的型号信息。 所以视频监视系统将被整合在交通控制系统内;由此可知,整合能力也是一个重要的(影响)因素。

而Intellect平台完全满足以上提到的所有需求。那个重要的视频分析功能能通过内置的车牌识别和交通控制模块得以实现。雷达测速仪,整合测速硬件也是由雷达模块完成的。 系统在两个十字路口的安装是由Ista集团和Infotex两家公司完成的。 Gabitus-Plus也是一家系统整合商。另外,时间对(视频监视系统)作出的判断起到决定性的影响。 Intellect(平台)可以快速计算出结果,因此可以高效的实现其功能并向Kiev州的交警机关实时显示交通状况。

为了能证明该系统的功能和其控制中心能够获得Kiev州交通统计数据,选定Bozhenko和Federova街道以及Tolstoy和Zhilyanskii街道这两个十字路口。安装一个交通标志:禁止Federov和Tolstoy街道上的卡车禁止进入市中心。 在未来,将有超过100个十字路口,城市入口,Dnipr市的桥梁都将配备有这样的系统,以符合城市功能化的发展方向。基于这个计划,那些被收集和处理的信息必须传送至各个部门:交警机关,政府行政部门,那些参与为交通控制和停车设备安装自动化系统,停车场的建造,以及为发展道路基础设施而吸引投资的KievDorService公用企业。 该系统的引进也是在Kiev州城市发展计划内一个详尽的项目中的一环。

方案

合理性

这个安装的系统必须能控制来自所有车道的通向市中心方向的交通流量——两到三个双车道。 (系统)摄像头的安装应该在不影响交通的前提下实施。

不得不提到的一点就是,安装车牌识别摄像头的标准不同于那些有关交通控制摄像头的安装方法。 在第一个案例中,街道上没有任何合适的装置(如行人桥,高架道路,管道等)用来在道路两旁牢牢固定摄像机。 因此,产生一个折中的方案可以将摄像头按在Federov街道距地面5.5-6米高的横梁上,高于无轨电车线。 而在Tolstoy街道,摄像头装在了高8米的柱子上。 这样就可以避免车牌自动识别系统摄像头相对车道的角度偏差,并且仍能提供摄像头足够的(大约30米宽)视角范围来控制交通流量。

型号为JVC TK-C920EA的摄像头被用来作为车牌识别之用,因为该种摄像配置广泛。 得以实现识别功能的最重要的性能就是其可调节的电子快门曝光时间。 结合COMPUTAR的变焦镜头,它可在白天和黑夜提供了一个清晰的车辆图片。

运行AxxonSoft软件的服务器放置在附近的租用的办公室内,每个十字路口配备一个服务器。这也使得该项目节省了服务器用于应对天气情况方面的开支。摄像头内的视频信号转换由Federov街道上的双绞线和Tolstoy街道的光纤传送至服务器。

Gabitus-Plus公司的首席专家Igor Voidevich表示 "车牌识别和跟踪交通流量的算法取决于英特尔酷睿2双核处理器的处理能力。 在这些设置下,四个摄像头100帧每秒的录像和显示任务不经意间即可完成。 这再一次印证了Intellect视频系统高度的理性。"

将远程工作地点的信息传递,此过程中最大的困难就是网络线路带宽在1Mb/s以下时的不稳定。 然而,除此以外,KievDorService公司的办公室以及在向Kiev州交警部门做系统演示时,该系统设法将每个摄像头以每秒1.5-2帧来显示,同时提供两条街道详细的车牌识别和交通信息。 这就使得交警部门可以实时而高效的估计两条街道上的交通状况。

效果与展望

一个月的使用期内有754个注册的违规案件

采用AxxonSoft公司方案的这个系统受到了城市行政部门的高度评价。 Kiev市行政部门副部长Denis Bass评价道"在这一个月的使用期里,在Federov和Bozhenko两条街的十字路口,就被这个视频监视系统查出有754辆车违规进入市中心。 而且,鉴于交警人员目前需要介入交通拥堵事件,在这个新系统引进后,电脑将控制路面情况。欧洲最大的那些个城市现在也会长期使用类似的操作系统。"

截至目前为止,内置于Intellect平台里的用于控制交通流量的模块,其功能未能完全发挥出来。 其中有交通违法行为的鉴定,比如(汽车)超速,行车规则的控制,交通流量以及密度模型的评估。 然而在将来,系统本身及其适用范围将会被拓展,这样系统内置模块的功能将被完全利用起来。

Denis Bass强调:"我们不准备再等一年后来启动这个系统。视频系统已被安装在 市中心区域——Kreshatike,Hmelnitskoi和Zhilyanckii街道,以及Pobedii Prospect。 该系统对城市非常重要,因为这样的方案让我们可以在不改造路口的前提下消除20%的交通拥堵。"

顺便提一句,就在Tolstoy和Zhilyanskii街道十字路口安装完该系统部件和调试好用于控制交通流量的摄像头后,刚好就已经记录好一起严重的道路事故。 这起事故是由于出租车司机的无视“只能直行和右转”的交通标志而想左转,因而造成的。不幸的是,类似这样的事故在大城市里时有发生。 所以,有一点可以确信的是,该系统的广泛应用和功能的完全发挥,将在Kiev市受到巨大的需求。

合作伙伴

Kiev公司——Gabitus-Plus,AxxonSoft公司在Ukraine的合作伙伴,在安装最先进的安全系统以及向客户提供可信的解决方案(这两个领域)拥有相当广泛而丰富的经验。 公司的主要业务包括项目设计,安装,(后续)服务,以及对数码视频监视系统,音视频登记设备,门禁系统,远程视频控制系统。 其最突出的项目有Raiffaizen Bank Aval,Krivorozhskii州的采矿和冶炼工厂——Krivorozhstal,Velika Kishenya的连锁零售店以及Epicenter合资企业。

Download Kiev intersections are under the control of Intellect case study.

所有案例研究
其他有用信息

experience the next
 
Home  > Case Studies  > Transportation

Kiev intersections are under the control of Intellect

Kiev is a large city with a population of around 3 million people. Like any metropolis, the regulation of traffic flows in the urban center is an important task. Its solution has been entrusted to a system powered by Intellect.

Situation

Traffic Jams Downtown and Heavy Traffic Uptown

To reduce congestion on the roads, the city administration enforced a range of special measures and limitations, including those concerning cargo transportation. However in spite of the fact that trucks without special permission were banned from entering the city center, many drivers violated that ban. Stopping every truck for document inspection could result in massive traffic jams. In order to solve this problem, city officials decided on deployment if an intelligent video surveillance system for traffic monitoring.

Choice of Solution

High Recognition Accuracy and Image Quality despite Low-Speed Channels

With regard to the installation of the traffic video monitoring system, the following objectives were laid out: recognition of automobile types heading for the city center, identification of license plate numbers for all trucks and verification of whether trucks entering the city center have appropriate permission. If there is no permission, then an alarm message should pop up on the monitor. In choosing a system which would become the basis for future solutions, many factors were reviewed. The system should recognize number plates with great probability, possess a distributed architecture and capacity for expansion, be able to operate through low-speed data transfer channels, provide high image quality when frame size is limited, and finally have the capability of working with radar guns and collecting statistical information about the types of vehicles in the center. Consequently, it was planned to integrate the video surveillance system with a traffic control system; therefore the ability to integrate was also an important factor.

The Intellect platform completely satisfied all of the listed requirements. The necessary video analysis functions were achieved through the help of included modules for license plate recognition and traffic control. Integration with hardware for detecting speed radar guns was also completed by the Radar module. The installation of the system at two intersections was done by two firms Ista Group and Infotex. The company Gabitus-Plus also acted as a system integrator. Besides, timeline was extremely important in factoring the decision. Intellect could be rolled out and configured quickly, thus allowed for the efficient inspection of its functionality and timely presentation to the Kiev State Traffic Police Authorities.

In order to verify the systems functionality and obtain statistical data about traffic in the center of Kiev, two intersections at Bozhenko and Federova streets and at Tolstoy and Zhilyanskii streets - were chosen first. A sign was installed, banning trucks along Federov and Tolstoy streets into the city center. In the future, more than 100 intersections, entrances to the city, and bridges over the Dnipr are to be equipped with the same system, with the option of future functionality developments. Under this plan, collected and processed information must be transferred to various departments the State Traffic Police Authorities, the city administration , and the KievDorService communal enterprise, which is engaged in installing automated systems for traffic control and parking facilities, the construction of parking lots, and the attracting investment for developing road infrastructure. The introduction of this system is one of the steps in an exhaustive program for the Kiev city planned development.

Solution

Rationality in Everything

The installed system had to be able to control traffic flow in one direction into the center of the city along all traffic lanes two or three accordingly for two streets. Work on installing the cameras was to be carried out without halting traffic.

It must be mentioned that the rules regarding installing license plate recognition cameras differ greatly from those concerning traffic control cameras. In the first instance, there werent any acceptable fixtures in the streets (pedestrian bridges, viaducts, pipelines, etc.), where the cameras could be firmly fastened over the roadways. Therefore, a compromise was made to place cameras on Federov Street on one beam at a height of 5.5-6m off the ground, above the trolleybus cables. On Tolstoy Street, the cameras were installed on a post at a height of 8m off the ground. With this, it was possible not to go beyond the angles of deviation for ANPR cameras from the traffic lane axis and still provide a sufficient (around 30m wide) coverage for the cameras controlling traffic flows.

JVC TK-C920EA cameras were chosen for the license plate recognition as they feature a wide range of configurations. The most important attribute for achieving the aim of recognition was the adjustable opening time of the electronic camera shutter. In conjunction with the COMPUTAR varifocal lenses, this provided a clear image of vehicles both during the day and at night.

Servers running AxxonSoft software were positioned in small rented offices in the near proximity one server for every intersection. This allowed the project to save money on protecting the servers from weather conditions. Video signals from the cameras were converted and transferred to the servers through twisted pair wire on Federov Street and through an optical cable on Tolstoy street.

"Algorithms for recognizing license plate numbers and tracking traffic flows dominated the processing power of the 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processors. Under these settings, the video recording and displaying tasks at the rate of 100 fps from all four cameras went simply unnoticed. This once again confirmed the high rationality behind the Intellect video system," noted Igor Voidevich, the leading specialist for Gabitus-Plus.

The main difficulty for transferring information from remote workplaces were unstable Internet channels with bandwidth less than 1Mb/s. However, in spite of this, at the office of the KievDorService company and during the presentation of the system to the Kiev State Traffic Police the system managed to display video at about 1.5-2 fps for each camera, as well as provide full detailed information about traffic and recognized license plate numbers from both streets. This allowed the officials to real-time effectively evaluate the environment on both streets.

Effect and Perspectives

754 Registered Violations in One Month of Operation

The installed system powered by AxxonSoft solutions received high marks by the city administration. First deputy director of the Kiev city administration Denis Bass commented at the systems presentation that "for one month of operations and only at the intersection of Federov and Bozhenko streets, 754 vehicles violating the ban on entrance into the city center were registered by the video system. Besides, whereas traffic police officers are currently needed to attend to traffic jams, with the introduction of this new system, computers will take over control over the roads. The largest European cities have operated in a similar fashion for a long time now."

As of now, many of the capabilities of the module for controlling traffic flows included in the Intellect platform are not being used. Among these are the identification of traffic law violations e.g. speeding, control over rules governing lane traffic, and the assessment of traffic flow and density patterns. However, in the future, the system and its range of objectives will be expanded, thus the capabilities of the installed module will be completely utilized.

"We are not planning on waiting another year to launch the system. Video surveillance systems have already been installed in the central parts of the city at Kreshatike, on Hmelnitskoi and Zhilyanckii streets, and on Pobedii Prospect. This system is extremely important for the city, because such solutions enable us to eliminate 20% of the traffic jams without reconstructing road junctions," emphasized Denis Bass.

Incidentally, a serious road accident was recorded already at the time of installing the system components and configuring the cameras for control over traffic flows at the intersection of Tolstoy and Zhilyanskii streets. It occurred due to a traffic violation by a taxi driver who ignored the sign indicating "movement only straight ahead and to the right" and tried to make a left turn. Unfortunately, similar events constantly occur in large cities. Therefore, one can be confident, that the widespread application of the system using all its capabilities will be very much in demand in Kiev.

Associates

The Kiev company, Gabitus-Plus, an AxxonSoft partner in Ukraine, has wide-ranging and rich experience in installing the most advanced security systems and offers only verified solutions to its customers. The main activities of the company include project design, installation, servicing, and support of digital video surveillance systems, audio and video registration equipment, access control systems, and remote video control systems. Its most prominent projects have included Raiffaizen Bank Aval, the Krivorozhskii state mining and smelting plant Krivorozhstal, the Velika Kishenya retail chain and the Epicenter joint enterprise.

Download Kiev intersections are under the control of Intellect case study.

All Case Studies
Additional useful information
images
"The decision to install Axxon Enterprise was based on the strong recommendation of Vladimir Timakin, the General Director Lilana, our security integrator. Mr. Timakin is a highly professional specialist who really knows his stuff. His authority in the security business, along with the outstanding Axxon Enterprise features we could see for ourselves determined our choice."
Victor Alekseevich Serdukov, Head of the Equipment and Engineering Systems Operation Department Gormost State Unitary Enterprise, Moscow
image
Looking for a Partner?
We've got more than 2500 of them. Find one here.
image
Become an Axxon partner
Attract more customers. Increase your profits. Grow your business. Become an Axxon partner